Old Stars Continue To Shine Brightly Past Age 90

When I was a teen, I thought anyone over 40 was ancient. When I reached 40, anyone over 60 was doddering. Now, I realize that age is just a number, and some people keep going strong, even long after living the Biblical three score years and ten.

As I approach my 91st birthday, I feel a warm kinship with some of my entertainment idols who’ve made it this far and beyond. The lively list includes Olivia de Havilland 100, Kirk Douglas 99, Zsa Zsa Gabor 99, Carol Channing 95, Betty White 94 and Doris Day 92.

This year has also been a very good one for some famous stars hitting their 90th birthdays. They’re Jerry Lewis, Dick Van Dyke, Don Rickles, Angela Lansbury, Mel Brooks and Tony Bennett.

I end with the opening lines of my favorite Dylan Thomas poem. The message is about facing later life with optimism and courage:
Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rage at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Leave a Reply

