Tips For Finding Post-Retirement Jobs

Work for retirees can be in two classifications. If economic conditions require, you’ll need to find a full- or part-time job. Other retirees will do it because they want to keep busy.

1. Do some interesting work: It was necessary for me to find a job after retiring at age 65 in 1990. My youngest had been accepted at an Ivy League university. Tuition and living expenses for each of the next four years were going to total $25,000. (Of course, it’s at least four times as much in these inflated times)

I found a full-time job as public relations director at a city community center. Although my salary was less than half of what I’d been earning before retirement, it just about covered tuition and living expenses for my child. That way I could keep within pension, Social Security and investment income.

2. How did I look for the job? Because we moved to a new city, I didn’t know anyone there to ask about openings. So I put together a killer resumé and a portfolio of my best work. My active career was in advertising and PR, so my portfolio contained samples of writing, conference planning, news articles and ad campaigns I’d created.

I scanned the Sunday newspaper want ads and surfed the internet, then answered all ads I thought could be for me. I was invited in for an interview at the community center and nailed the job.

3. Expect lower income offers. Although you could have been a boss in your pre-retirement career, job offers in retirement years may pay far less than previous earnings. If you’ve stashed away savings and investments, accept the lower-paying job. Look for something to keep you active and challenged.

4. Accept a part-time job. You’ve worked hard all your life, so you shouldn’t have to sacrifice too many leisure retirement hours. Additionally, consider your health, and if not desperate for money, take a job that only requires limited hours and involvement.

5. Volunteer. If you don’t need income, donate as many hours as you can handle. Work with the elderly, a religious group, hospital, museum, charitable agency or coach a bunch of kids.

Finding the best retirement jobs is a matter of personal choice and financial needs. If income is required, look for a meaningful job that pays at least enough to cover living expenses. If well fixed financially, go for the volunteer jobs that are interesting and fulfilling.

 

 

Leave a Reply

